Barnaby Joyce MP

Nationals Member for New England

About Us

Following the Federal Election on 18 May 2019, Barnaby was re-elected as the Member for New England with an increased primary vote of 54.80%. Compared to the previous general election in 2016, that represents a swing of 2.5%.

Post-election and subsequent Cabinet reshuffle, the Drought Envoy position was discontinued and all associated duties were transferred to the new Minister for Drought, David Littleproud.

Mr Joyce was reappointed Chair of the House Standing Committee on Industry, Innovation, Science and Resources and also appointed as Chair of the Coalition Policy Committee on Small and Family Business, Employment, Education and Training. He was also made a voting member of the Parliamentary Joint Standing Committee on Public Works; House Standing Committee on Employment, Education and Training; Coalition Policy Committee on Foreign Affairs, Trade and Investment and Coalition Policy Committee on Defence and Veterans Affairs.

He is a Paul Harris Fellow of Rotary, a former serving member of the Australian Defence Force Reserves and a long term member of St Vincent De Paul.

Barnaby represented Central North NSW in Rugby and has three times been the subject for the Archibald Prize.

The seat includes the local government areas of Liverpool Plains, Upper Hunter, Tamworth Regional, Walcha, Uralla, Armidale, Glen Innes Severn, Inverell and Tenterfield Shire Councils as well as part of Gwydir Shire Council.

The major hubs include Aberdeen, Armidale, Barraba, Bingara, Bundarra, Deepwater, Glen Innes, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Merriwa, Nundle, Quirindi, Scone, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Yetman, Walcha, Werris Creek and parts of Delungra and Urbenville.